Pecan Chicken

I think I got this recipe from the free French newspaper that they hand out at the metro station, but I am not sure. This recipe has buttermilk and Dijon mustard, two things I do not particularly like the smell of, although I don’t mink the taste (usually) when it is cooked.

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 2 cups crushed pecans
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

1. Flatten chicken breasts between wax paper, until 2.5 cm thick.  (Yeah, I don’t actually measure this. I just like hitting it with the meat tenderizer.)

2.  In a medium bowl, combine buttermilk and mustard. Pour mixture into re-sealable plastic bag and add chicken breasts. Refrigerate at least 1 hour.

3. Preheat oven to 350F.

4. Place crushed pecans in shallow dish. (The original recipe says to salt and pepper the individual pieces of chicken, but we just added them to the pecans.) Press chicken pieces lightly onto the pecans until chicken is covered. (We only had 1 cup of pecans and it was definitely not enough.)

5. Heat oil in a big skillet and cook chicken until golden.

6. Transfer to a baking dish and bake at least 10 minutes, or until chicken is done.

Verdict: I know C and our mom liked it, but there was something off in the taste for me. It might be the mustard, which I don’t particularly like uncooked, although I have had it cooked before and I know I liked it then.

T

  1. #1 by nadia on September 30, 2010 - 7:32 pm

    sounds great! i’m going to try!

Leave a Reply

