Chicken and Broccoli Braid

A friend at work brought this in for me to try and it was very good so I got the recipe from her.

You’ll need:

373 grams of cooked chicken

1 cup of broccoli, chopped

1/2 cup red pepper chopped (which I omitted when I made it because I don’t like peppers)

1 clove of garlic, pressed (or, you know, garlic powder)

1 cup old cheddar cheese, grated

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 tsp dried dill weed (which I omitted because…well I don’t have any)

1/4 tsp salt

2 pkg of refrigerated crescent rolls ( I don’t know why it says two, I only used one)

1 egg white, lightly beaten

2 tbsp silvered almonds

Preheat over to 375 degree F. Chop chicken and broccoli in a food processor. Mix with chopped red peppers, garlic, grated cheese, mayonnaise, dill weed and salt

Unroll packages of crescent rolls; do not separate lengthwise. Roll with roller to seal perforation. Cut dough into strips, about 1 1/2 inches apart and 3 inches long, leaving about 6 inches in the centre for the filling.

Spread filling evenly over middle length of dough. To braid, lift strips of dough across mixture to meet in the centre. Continue alternating strips. Tuck ends up to seal the end.

Brush with egg white and sprinkle with almonds. Bake 25-28 minutes or until golden brown. I think mine only took 20 minutes so keep an eye on it.

  1. #1 by Babygirl on March 13, 2011 - 8:21 am

    Wow, this recipe for Chicken and Broccoli Braid really sounds delicious. I’ve never tried anything like this recipe, but I will give it a whirl. Very nice post.

Leave a Reply

