Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I am pretty sure I found this recipe online, but I can’t seem to find the website where I originally found it. It can currently be found online on another blog, though I know this wasn’t the site where I first saw it.

  • 1 cup shortening (we used 1 cup butter)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 6 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (omitted because we use salted butter)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (we used a little more, because that’s what was left in the bag)

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease 2 9X5 inch loaf pans (we did one loaf pan and six individual loafs in this cool pan I bought. I have to get a picture of it sometime in the future).

2. In a large bowl, cream together shortening (or butter) and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Add mayonnaise and bananas.

3. In another bowl, mix together flour, salt (if using), baking powder and baking soda. Add to wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Add in chocolate chips.

4. Pour into prepared pans and bake 50 to 75 min or until a toothpick (or chopstick) comes out clean (well, minus any melted chocolate chips it hits! Which, for me, is all the time. Our smaller ones took 20 min, but the large took an hour).

Verdict: This was a very tasty banana bread recipe. I don’t know if I would rate it better than some of the other banana bread recipes I have tried, but I liked it!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

