Pancakes: The best and the worst

I found the next two recipes from the book The Most Decadent Diet Ever! by Devin Alexander. The first one is actually a chocolate chip pancake recipe, but after trying  different ones I really don’t like chocolate chips in my pancakes so I omitted them from this recipe.

The original recipe is as follows:

  • 1 large egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup whole-grain oat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp mini chocolate chip cookies

As I said already; I took out the chocolate chips, but I also used regular buttermilk and I have no idea what whole-grain oat flour os so I just used whole wheat flour.

To make the pancakes just whisk together all the ingredients. (The recipe says to stir in 1 1/2 tbsp of water and then the chocolate chips but I like my pancakes thicker so I didn’t do that.)  Using about 1/4 the batter for each pancake pour onto hot, greased (with cooking spray) skillet and flip after there are bubbles, about two minutes. (There were actually bubbles for this one. I very rarely get bubbles.)  Serve immediately with syrup.

These were the best so far. They were light and fluffy but were still thick like how I like them. The batter didn’t make that much, tho.

With that success under my belt I tried another recipe that was basically the same but with same added ingredients that sounded interesting.

Orange Raspberry Pancakes:

  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 large egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup whole-grain oat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp orange extract
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp dried orange peel

I made the same changes as the last time but also I had fresh raspberries and I omitted the orange peel because I don’t find the idea eating orange peel appetizing

To make the pancakes: Coarsely chop the raspberries and stir in sugar. Then whisk all the other ingredients together in a small bowl. Add in the raspberries. Follows the same step as the last pancakes.

See, not that different and I like both raspberries and oranges so I figured ‘what could go wrong’. Turns out: a lot. The pancakes looked good until I cut into them; the centre was gray, talk about gross. And the flavour was disgusting. I actually couldn’t even finish them and ended up giving them to my dog.  That was disappointing.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

