Beef Vegetable Skillet Bake

I found this recipe on the Kraft page.

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef (I probably used less)
  • 1 8 ounce package of sliced mushrooms (didn’t use because I do not like mushrooms)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cups peas and carrots (I just used 2 cans of mixed vegetables, which include potatoes and beans as well)
  • 1 284 ml can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 115g Velveeta processed cheese, cut into cubes (I used cheddar cheese)
  • 1 package refrigerated crescent rolls

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. Brown meat in large oven proof skillet. Add mushrooms (if using) and onion. Cook 8 to 10 min or until liquid from mushrooms evaporates. Stir in vegetables, soup and water. Bring to boil. Add cheese and stir. Remove from heat.

3. Unroll crescent dough and separate into 8 triangles. Arrange on top of meat mixture with narrow pointed edges touching (mine didn’t even look close to the picture, but I did the best I could).

4. Bake 12 to 15 min or until golden brown. (Kraft had a good tip I didn’t know about before, that I could wrap the handle of my skillet with aluminum foil to protect it from the oven, because mine is not oven proof.)

Verdict: I am not sure this is a meal that holds up well to being frozen and reheated. With other meals I freeze, the crescent rolls are still nice and flaky, but it seemed a little bit too soggy in this recipe.  (I didn’t try it straight from the oven, I only ate reheated portions.)

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

