Donut Muffins

This is another recipe I found in the French Metro newspaper. I had made them and loved these muffins previously so when I wanted to make some muffins for my co-workers I immediately thought of making them again.

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (omitted)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk

Topping (I think this whole section can be halved. I had a lot leftover)

  • 1/2 cup melted butter (I used 1/4 cup and it was still a little much)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

1.  In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt (if using), nutmeg and cinnamon.

2. In another bowl, mix the oil, sugar, egg and milk.

3. Add to the dry ingredients and mix until moist.

4. Bake for 20 to 25 min at 350F. (I was using a funky shaped pan, so mine were smaller and needed around 10-12 min to cook)

5. Remove from mould as soon as they come out of the oven. Mix the cinnamon and sugar for the topping in a small bowl.

6. While the muffins are still warn, dip in the melted butter, then in the cinnamon sugar topping.

My funky shaped muffins pre-topping

 

Verdict: I remember liking these a lot more. The taste, for me, just wasn’t there. Though everyone at work loved them, so it might just be me.

 

Post sugar topping

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

