Shepherd’s Pie

I got this recipe from a WeightWatcher’s book. I am kind of bad and don’t really use the low fat/reduced fat stuff they recommend, but I do like the ideas for their recipes.

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon salt (omitted because we use salted butter)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, cubed
  • 2 carrots, peeled, sliced and blanched
  • 1 cup chopped and cleaned spinach leaves (omitted because I do not like spinach)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup corn (we used 1 medium sized can, so more than what was called for )
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon marjoram
  • 3 medium potatoes, cooked, peeled and mashed
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika

1. In a small saucepan, over medium-high heat, melt butter. Sprinkle with 1 tablespoon of the flour. Cook for 2 min, stirring constantly. Whisk in the broth, salt (if using) and water. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring constantly, for 3-4 min, until thickened.

2. Preheat oven to 400F.

3. In a large bowl, combine chicken and remaining tablespoon of flour. Stir in carrots, spinach (if using), onion, corn, milk, thyme, marjoram and the prepared chicken broth sauce. Transfer to a large casserole. Top with mashed potatoes. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and paprika. Bake until bubbling and potatoes are golden, 30-35 min.

Verdict: I did not like this very much. It didn’t really have the same depth of flavour that I find in versions where I use ground beef. I am not sure why, because I love chicken, but I guess it just didn’t work for me in this meal.

And I forgot to take a picture of this meal. 😦

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

