In Search Of: the Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Part 32: Blueberry, Caramel and White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I found this recipe on another food blog.

  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I read the recipe wrong – long time since that has last happened – and mixed up the sugar and brown sugar, so I used 1 cup of sugar)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (as per the note above, I used 3/4 cup brown sugar)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (omitted because we use salted butter)
  • 2 cups Caramel bits (we couldn’t find any, so we used the caramel squares and cut them into really small pieces)
  • 1 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips (we used milk chocolate chips, because my sister doesn’t really like white chocolate)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar and brown sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla.

3. Mix together flour, baking soda and salt (if using) in a medium bowl. Add to wet ingredients.

4. Mix in the dried blueberries, caramel and chocolate chips.

5. Drop spoonfuls onto baking sheets and bake 9 to 11 min (ours took nine).

Verdict: We made 8 dozen cookies! I am not sure what they would have tasted like if I hadn’t mixed up the two sugars, but I really liked them the way I made them. The cookie dough part of it just had this really nice moist taste to it. I thought I wouldn’t like these cookies with everything that was mixed into them, but the caramel, blueberries and chocolate just worked perfectly together. Even for the cookies that had more caramel than others and kind of ended up looking a little too melted. Delicious!

ETA: I just realized that in the version of the recipe I have, there was no oatmeal. They were still great though!

  1. chocolate frosting, chocolate frosting recipes

Leave a Reply

