Surprise Cookies

This is a Martha Stewart recipe.

Cookie

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 12-18 large marshmallows, cut in half lengthwise

Frosting

  • 3 cups icing sugar
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup + 1 1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons milk
  • 3/4 teaspoons vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. Cookies: In a medium bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder and baking soda (I am pretty sure the original recipe had salt that I don’t use because I use salted butter).

3. In a large bowl, mix together butter and sugar. Add egg, vanilla and milk. Add in the flour mixture.

4. Drop spoonfuls onto baking sheet. Bake 8 min, turning once halfway through. Remove from oven and immediately press a marshmallow half onto the top and return to oven to bake another 2 min. Let cookies cool completely.

5. Frosting: Place the icing sugar in a bowl.

6. Melt butter with the cocoa powder in a saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. Add the butter to the icing sugar. Whisk in milk and vanilla.

7. Spread 1 tablespoon of frosting over each cookie to cover the marshmallow. Let stand 10 min to set (I also put them in the fridge overnight and have stored them in the fridge, because it’s summer and hot and I don’t want the frosting to melt).

Verdict: These were messy but delicious cookies. I was supposed to be able to make 36. My first batch was a reasonable size, but my second batch got a little large, so I only made 24 cookies (which is why I needed less than the 18 marshmallows I was supposed too). Because of this I probably also probably put more frosting on the cookies than I should have. I normally don’t like cookies with frosting on them, but I loved these. The cookies were kind of like brownies in their taste and texture.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

