Jam-Filled Almond Muffins

I found this recipe online (though I am not 100% sure that was the original page I found it on).

  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup jam (we used raspberry)
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 cup of sliced almonds (we probably didn’t even use half of this and we made more than the 12 expected muffins)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (we used a pinch of sugar for each muffin. So for 18 muffins, I am not sure if that is more or less than 1 tablespoon)

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Prepare muffin cups.

2. In a large bowl, mix together whole wheat flour, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

3. In a medium bowl, mix together eggs and brown sugar until smooth. Add buttermilk, orange juice, oil and vanilla. Add to dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.

4. In a small bowl, mix together jam and almond extract.

5. Scoop half the batter into the prepared muffin cups. Drop a generous teaspoon of the jam mixture into the centre of each. Top with the remaining batter. Sprinkle almonds and sugar on top of each muffin.

6. Bake 15 – 25 min (ours were ready after about 20 min).

Verdict: The first time I tried almond extract in a recipe, it was an M&M cookie recipe and I thought I had messed something up because the cookies didn’t taste that good. My mom and my sister tried them and loved them, so I worried that it was the almond extract that I didn’t like. This is only the second recipe I’ve tried with almond extract and, so far, it’s not looking good. Then again, I didn’t mind the jam centres of the muffins, it was the muffins themselves that seemed to lack any taste overall. Plus this time it wasn’t just me. My sister was also not a fan of these.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

