Elbow Macaroni and Beef

This is a Pillsbury recipe (though I didn’t have any elbow macaroni left, so my recipe doesn’t really match the title).

  • 1 1/2 cup uncooked elbow macaroni (I used the bow tie noodles)
  • 1 1lb package of frozen broccoli florets, carrots and cauliflower (all I could see at my store was broccoli and I only used half the package, about 250g)
  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1 14 ounce can/jar of spaghetti sauce/tomato sauce
  • 4 slices of American cheese (I am assuming this is similar to the orange slices of Kraft cheese here, so that is what I used)

1. Cook noodles as directed on package. The frozen vegetables should be added to the boiling water along with the noodles. Drain.

2. Meanwhile, brown the beef in a large skillet. Drain off excess fat when everything is cooked through.

3. Add the sauce, noodles and vegetables and stir. Reduce heat to low. Halve each slice of cheese diagonally. Place each halve along the edge of the skillet so that  the longest side of each triangle touches the skillet (I used a different pattern, I think, as pictured below). Cover and let stand 1-2 min until cheese is melted.

Verdict: This is similar to a dish my mom makes, only she doesn’t use vegetables and we cover everything with mozzarella instead of American/Kraft cheese. The different cheese didn’t bother me, I don’t think it tasted funny with the noodles and sauce. But I still am not too fond of the taste of broccoli and tomato sauce. Something about that combination doesn’t work for me.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

