Apple Dumplings

I found this recipe online, though I am no longer sure exactly where I found it.

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 sheets frozen puff pastry
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 4 apples (the original recipe recommended Golden Delicious. We didn’t use those but I can’t remember what we did use), peeled and cored.

1. Preheat oven to 425F.

2. In a small bowl, mix together sugar and cinnamon.

3. (The original instructions were a little unclear to me with regards to the puff pastry. What it basically came down to was: on a lightly floured rolled out each of the puff pastry sheets. Cut each sheet in half, so you have 4 rectangles of about 9 by 6 inches.) With the beaten egg, lightly brush a 1 inch border around each rectangle.

4. Place on apple in the centre of each rectangle and fill each of the empty cores with the sugar mixture (we had a decent amount left over). Gather the four corners of one rectangle, bring to the top of the apple and twist and pinch together. Pinch together all edges of the pastry. Repeat for other rectangles.

5. Chill for 15 min. Place on baking sheet and brush with egg (we also sprinkled with the remaining sugar mixture we had). Bake for 8 minutes then reduce temperature to 400F. Bake another 20-22 minutes – don’t over bake or dumplings will burst.

Apple Dumpling

Verdict: These were really easy to make and really tasty, but it’s hard to go wrong with apple and cinnamon (though it has happened to me). I am still not really a fan of store made puff pastry, but I am not sure I want to try to make my own, so I guess I can put up with it. I was a little afraid that the apples wouldn’t be cooked all the way through or would be too mushy, but they had a nice consistency to them.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

