Apple Crisp Dessert

This is a Kraft recipe.

  • 5 cups sliced, peeled apples (I think there should have been more. There wasn’t enough to really cover the bottom of the baking dish we used. And I say this as someone who normally likes the more topping than apples)
  • 1/2 cup sugar, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 cups shredded mild cheddar cheese (we used old cheddar; in the linked version of the recipe it says one cup, but in the version I was sent through my Kraft e-mail subscriptions I had 2 so that is what we used)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs (again here I had plain but the linked version says fresh)
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

1. Preheat oven to 325F.

2. Toss apples with 1/4 cup of the sugar, cinnamon and the nutmeg.

3. Place apples in a 9×9 inch buttered baking dish. (This could have been why it felt like we didn’t have enough apples, because we used a bigger dish.)

4. Mix remaining sugar, cheese, flour, bread crumbs, almonds, raisins and melted butter and sprinkle over apples.

5. Bake 40 min or until browned and apples are tender.

Cheesy Apple Crisp

Verdict: Having loved the apple and cheddar grilled cheese recipe I have, I was looking forward to trying the apple/cheddar combination in more apple desserts, but I was disappointed in this recipe. There was no real cheese flavour. I actually found that I tasted nutmeg more than I did the cheese. The topping really didn’t hold together well, which may be due to the fact that the recipe used a melted butter rather than having us cut in cold squares of butter.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

